Skip to content

SCBWI – A Wealth of Writing Wonder

July 6, 2012

SCBWI Member      I’m SO GLAD I became a member of the
Society of Children’s Books Writers and
Illustrators!

When I attended the Arkansas Chapter conference in Little Rock at the end of April, I had no idea what to expect.  Yeah, I thought I’d meet a few writers.  Yeah, I thought I’d hear some ‘talks’ on the ‘craft.’ ‘

Little did I realize the free sharing, the wealth of knowledge, the glowing passion for children’s literature that I experienced. Everything–character, plot, writing time, agents and agencies, e-publishing, and more were discussed and delivered on.

“Don’t internalize the negatives.  The harder you work, the luckier you get.” – Katy Duffield, author of Farmer McPeeper and His Missing Milk Cows

Ariel Richardson from Chronicle Books shared on prioritizing the book over the child, noting that ‘the art challenges technology.  Technology inspires art.”  I never really knew the difference between ‘storybooks’ and ‘picture books.’ She related that storybooks are text-based, with decorative illustrations.  Picture books are picture-based, with accompanying text.  That has changed the way I’ve thought about my efforts.

Krista Vitola of Random House Children’s Divison presented priceless knowledge on ‘voice’ and its influence, power, and role in writing for children.

Characterization is a key element in any story.  It depends on the honesty and rawness of a character, Krista explained, and is crucial to suspending disbelief, critical to a reader buying into the realness of a storyline and its players.

Ariel Richardson provided a broad and deep view of non-fiction for us, stressing Back-Matter, Voice, Narrative and Plot, and Character.

One thing that was so valuable was gaining a sensitivity to the market.  Krista Vitola gave many examples of the process and successes in acquisition of Middle Grade and Young Adult literature.  She stressed the values that are attractive to the current market:  Uniqueness, High-Concept, Strong Voice, Touching, Marketability, Relevant Topics.

Not to mention that I DID meet some fabulous Arkansas writers with the same dreams as me.  Some published and successful.  Some just starting out.  Some who have blogs you can subscribe to and get great writing instruction, advice, and inspiration.  I rubbed elbows with writers and agents and illustrators.  I bumped brains with them too.

All of this, over a day and a half, was a lot to digest.  I’ve reviewed my notes a hundred times, I’ll bet. This experience has affected my writing. It has encouraged my effort.

It has validated my passion for this adventure.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2012 9:27 am

    yay! i’m so glad you went! find one i can attend with you, pleeeeaassee.!

  2. Joy Moore permalink
    July 15, 2012 7:44 am

    Thanks for the scbwi review. I couldn’t attend the conferance in my area due to a schedule conflict.

    Yeah!

    • July 15, 2012 9:24 pm

      Joy, glad you enjoyed the review. I had planned originally to attend the Houston, TX SCBWI a month earlier, but could not.
      I had a great time and I’ll be headed for a retreat in North Arkansas in October, I hope… aside of any conflicts that may arise.

  3. July 18, 2012 11:26 pm

    Yes, thank you so much for sharing…I know I need to go to one…you can get a lot from books…and the internet…and the 12×12 community and Susanna Leonard Hill’s following are GREAT…but in person is something special. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Radio, Rhythm & Rhyme

Tying together poetry, parenting, and advertising in a neat little package

WordWranglerNC

WordNerd in Training

SevenAcreSky

WHY KIDS READ IS WHY I WRITE.

pernilleripp.wordpress.com/

Blogging Through the Fourth Dimension

Ella Kennen

Corvisiero Literacy Agency

Penny Parker Klostermann

Children's Author and Poet

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Stephen Swinburne's Blog

Steve Swinburne is a children's book author from Vermont with over 30 published books. His most recent book, "Sea Turtle Scientist", is published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt and on book shelves now!

POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

Jason R. Kinsey

Ramblings on explorations of Creation.

pictured words

a simple pairing of pictures and poetry

lisarosewrites

Swimming from Shalom to Shazizzle

K Callard

Writer

Picture Book Playdate

Picture Books: Writing, Reading, Reviewing, Discussing

Mother Streusel

Mother Streusel's useless rhymes are full of nonsense and should be avoided if your doctor has prescribed a regimen of seriousness. Proceed with caution.

The Drawer Of M. M. Socks

Stories - Tall and Short for the Tall and Short

The Picture Book Review

Picture book reviews, reviews of books with pictures, and pictures of books!

Marcie Flinchum Atkins

Children's and Young Adult Writer

Picture Books Help Kids Soar

VIVIAN KIRKFIELD - WRITER FOR CHILDREN

